Happy Days

Best Easter ever! I’m so glad to be a missionary this Easter…. I have never seen more miracles! We went to 3 wards this Sunday which is… well, a lot of good talks! It was way fun to see how each ward works! Also we had seriously SO many of our investigators at church. One of our investigators Mahboub (Robert) from Turkey was going to quit his job on Sunday and come with us to church, and he just came and didn’t even tell his job he was quitting. Just 1 month ago he did not have a single belief of religion and now he is coming to church. It was SOOOO good because yesterday in his very broken English he was telling us that he had to kick down a prejudice wall he built up against religion and start learning from scratch.

He gave this analogy (tears I’m telling you) about how if we take a picture it is in 2D and if we are in the room with him we know that he is not 2D and he isn’t on the same plane as the wall. But from the picture we don’t necessarily know this. He goes on to say that the spirit (that he wasn’t feeling last week) was telling him that the more we learn about the gospel the more we see that it is 4D and we can learn so much more about it if we believe (like believing the picture is of something more than 2D.

He did a really good job of explaining this to us considering his English and it was a great experience. He has really humbled himself and started letting the spirit speak to him. He said “logically I didn’t used to wake up and think to pray. But because I wake up and think to pray there HAS to be something telling me to do that, so I am starting to believe and feel the holy ghost testify of these things”

GO ROBERT! I could go on and on about him because he is seriously the most amazing thing ever.  We all walked out of his lesson with tears because of the prayer he said asking when he should be baptized. 💜 we love him!

So tomorrow we are performing as a missionary choir and I’ve attached a recording of it. I’m part of a choir mom!!! 😉 It is going to be performed at a baseball game so if someone films it I’ll send that next week!

FUNNY PART OF THE WEEK.
So this week we decided to go see one of our referrals and I was on splits with 2 sisters from the YSA Ward (these girls are my favorite ever) and we pull up to the most HOOD neighborhood of life. It was so sketchy. But also I’ve got God on my side so I wasn’t scared. Coshlyn was in her garage and we walked in and I introduced myself and no joke she was lining up some cocain… and then she started rolling drugs into a little wrapper! Like it was no big deal… I told her why we were there and she went and got her grandma(she didn’t want to hear us until she was done doing her thing.) Mary (grandma) asked me to pray for all the demons to leave their house and so I said a prayer with them and asked to show them the Easter video! They were really nice and I got to hold their snake but she didn’t really want us to go back until she was sober… but we did leave them with the scriptures and a happy message!
(Coshlyn pictured with my snake :))

Week 11 b

We have a few more investigators set with dates and we are seeing so many miracles here. If I could write individually about each one I would, but we have SO MANY progressing investigators who are way incredible and just NOT enough time to write about them.

Cats cats cats
We see about 10-20 cats every day because they are really everywhere…. but this cat was so fluffy and pretty much loved me!

Week 11 a

BOOK OF MORMON
So my favorite book ever… I have been reading in Alma lately and something that stood out to me was in Alma 5:62
I speak by way of command unto you that belong to the church; and unto those who do not belong to the church I speak by way of invitation, saying: Come and be baptized unto repentance, that ye also may be partakers of the fruit of the tree of life.

Pretty much awesome… we all belong to this church and if we don’t, we are invited in. Our purpose as missionaries is to invite others to come unto Christ.
And the cool thing is, when someone says no, we move on to the next because someone IS ready to hear the message we share, and there are so many who are praying to run into us.

Like natalie…. a few weeks ago on exchanges with Sister West we accidentally forgot to go see someone and we rode away on our bikes. There was a gal (Natalie) Who was unloading her trunk and we said hello. She turned around and said “oh you’re the Sister missionaries! I have been meaning to get in contact with you, can I get your information?!” (Usually it’s not this easy people)
We have been teaching Natalie and her boyfriend Jordan has been helping (he served in spain.)
Natalie was ready for us, and there are so many people who are ready. We need to find these people and bring them into our arms!
Elder M russel Ballard taught us “The lord will want to hear what we have to say but He will more grateful for who we brought to him under the condition of repentance.”

I love Austin, I love Texas, I love my companions!

I miss you all and hope you had a good Easter week.

Sister Kennadi smith
1500 east riverside apt. 123
Austin, Texas 78741

Leave a comment