Power of a Song

This week was crazy fun! Mostly because all of our wonderful investigators are just that, WONDERFUL! We had so many teaching appointments this week and have set 2 more people with baptismal dates!

Before I start off let me tell yall that I took about 8 inches off of my hair last night and by I, I mean my companions did! It was so random so these next few months will be fun and interesting! 🙂

Haircut 1

Haircut 2

Back to the work… this week I got an email (thanks for being a first responder, Uncle Joe) and it mentioned the importance of cleaving unto things and how each time it’s written in the scriptures there are multiple meanings and they are all important. I loved the email and it was so divinely inspired because one of our investigators had soooo many questions this week that I was able to answer with cleaving unto the word of God as well as unto a wife (future for him.) I loved that this week everything fell perfectly into place. Also going to share the scriptures that were shared with me because I loved them too!

Jacob 6 verse 5 “Wherefore, my beloved brethren, I beseech of you in words of soberness that ye would repent, and come with full purpose of heart, and cleave unto God as he cleaveth unto you. And while his arm of mercy is extended towards you in the light of the day, harden not your hearts.”
It really is cool that heavenly father loves us so much and he has made a way for us to come back, he is cleaving unto us and wants us to cleave unto him. He wants us to humble ourselves and he will have his arm extended out to us.
This is probably extra cool to me because out of all the things I’ve done he STILL has his arm extended out to me? What a cool thing it is and he truly is a merciful God.

Regina (pictured) is our recent convert who bore her testimony for us this week and she is going to do it again in sacrament next week. She is a sweet heart!

Regina

Claire (also pictured) is going back to China soon so she had us over for dinner and made us one of her own Chinese dishes!! It was not bad:)

Investigator Claire

Anywho, this week I’ve also seen the amazing power of the hymns and it’s so fun!
Robert has come to church 3 times now and he LOVES it. He reads through the hymn book every time he comes and after sacrament tells us that the songs were his favorite part.
The cool thing about this is, he is from Iran and he speaks farsi (I don’t know the spelling) and he speaks Turkish. He reads the book of Mormon in English because “he has to focus more and it’s easier to understand when he focuses on each word.” How cool is that. He focuses on each word because he wants to know what they mean and how he can follow christ.
This week he texted us and told us that he had not smoked at all that day so we were soooo happy and wanted to reward him, we went over and we all sang “there is a green hill far away.” I have never seen someone more happy with a song! It was so cool. He told us that he still loved drinking beer and we somehow convinced him to stop by singing another hymn. Apparently they are powerful. How cool is that! Amazing seriously.

Well people, we cover 3 areas, we see blessings every day and I wish I had the time to tell you about all of them. Have a good week and I miss you all!

Sister Kennadi smith
1500 east riverside apt. 123
Austin, Texas 78741

Leave a Reply

